Skip to content

Creating Value: The not so fine line between self promotion and canned ham

April 10, 2013

I would have to agree completely. I tend to delete all comments that are just people spamming trying to get a link. All bloggers could learn from this. There is a fine line between interaction and spamming. It is easier to click a link when someone has left a thoughtful, conversation provoking comment then someone who just says “follow me.”

What are some of your thoughts on this, my awesome followers? Please leave a like here and check the original blog. I promise you will love it if you are a thoughtful blogger.

-YoungEmt

readful things blog

We all want to offer something that is valuable and important to others, and we all have some type of agenda. Whether that is to satisfy our own desires to write and be read or to make sales or to reach some numerical goal, we all want to be appreciated. This is very true in the world of self marketing and self promotion. As authors, artists, musicians, etc. word of mouth or lack of it can make you or break you. I respect this, I really do. I don’t mean to sound like I don’t appreciate someone who works hard to achieve their goals.

I like to promote other bloggers and authors. I find that putting the time into giving someone a shout out and trying to shed a bit of light on their endeavors is good for myself and them. I love it when I form a connection with…

View original post 914 more words

From → Blogging, Thoughtful

4 Comments
  1. A sincere thank you for the reblog. I appreciate it. You have a lovely site.

  2. Joey, this is a subject close to my heart. The following is a snapshot from one of my posts about it, and a link to an earlier one, on the same subject.

    >what happened to all the signed-up ‘followers’? Do they just follow so many blogs, that they become tired of keeping up with them, and cherry-pick from their favourites, I wonder? I don’t technically follow any blogs in this fashion, preferring to keep down e mail traffic, and just look at those I like, on a random basis. However, I cannot see the point of following a blog, then not reading the posts. I apologise if this is all a bit ‘old hat’ for most of you, but it is new to me, so I am going on about it a bit. To those who follow blogs, but do not really follow them, can I suggest that you unsubscribe?<

    http://beetleypete.wordpress.com/2012/08/24/on-blogging/

    Keep up the good work, your blog is maturing well, and you are obviously enjoying it. regards, Pete.

Leave a Reply

Abby Has Issues

I have issues. So do you.

A Wandering Commentary

Analyzing a variety of topics, most of them meaningless

www.immodiumabuser.com

AS I TOLD THE GIRL THAT I LOST MY VIRGINITY TO, THANKS FOR LAUGHING AT ME HERE TODAY.

readful things blog

colourful language, colourful opinions

Random Encounters of an Inquisitive Mind

My life, my thoughts, my adventures

The Life and Times of Nathan Badley...

just like Moby Dick, but shorter and less whale-oriented.

