Skip to content

Sorry For Taking Forever!!!

March 17, 2013

Sorry for not posting. I know I have said this a lot in the past few weeks but a lot has happened.So many things have happened since I have last posted.

Eagle Scout Badge, Type 9

Last Monday I finally had my Eagle Scout Board of Review and I passed! It was one of the greatest feelings I have ever experienced. Finally I am part of the 4% of all scouts who earn this great achievement. Now I feel it is my duty to pay it forward and support other scouts in to making the right decision of staying in the program and carry through with this achievement. So many have supported me and I would like to thank them for it. These people are my family in general, my awesome girlfriend who understood what this meant and still stayed with me and to all my scout leaders for being there to give me an extra nudge.

I have also been finally cleared to start driving the ambulance. I need 5 hours of driving time before I can be one of two primary providers on the ambulance, instead of riding as a third provider. I already have over 3 hours and I have code 3 driving experience. For those of you who don’t know code 3 means lights and sirens on and code 1 is lights and sirens off. We here in Maine do not recognize a code 2 as a response mechanism, but it is often used on less busy roads.

This Thursday and Friday I went to the Skills USA Maine competition where I competed in First Aid and CPR skills. Skills USA is the gathering of all technical schools and the competition between them in the skills and vocations that they teach. There is a local, state, and national level. I won the local level and tied for fourth place at the State level. First place or “gold” medalists get to compete at the national level this summer.

Skills was a great experience. I met a lot of people who are interested in the same things as I am as well as the same career. I would love to take part in it again as a post-secondary competitor.

The past few weeks have been great and I am hoping to start blogging regularly again. Please bare with me.

Thanks for Your Support!

-YoungEmt

From → My Life

One Comment
  1. Congratulations on your scouting and driving achievements. You are right to be pleased and proud. Also well done on the first aid skills competition, as you say, it will only help in your chosen career. At a time when so many young people seem to have no drive or ambition, and are only interested in music, and fast food, it is a pleasure to see someone like you leading such a positive, and worthwhile life. Well done Joey. Regards from England. Pete.

Leave a Reply

Abby Has Issues

I have issues. So do you.

A Wandering Commentary

Analyzing a variety of topics, most of them meaningless

www.immodiumabuser.com

AS I TOLD THE GIRL THAT I LOST MY VIRGINITY TO, THANKS FOR LAUGHING AT ME HERE TODAY.

readful things blog

colourful language, colourful opinions

Random Encounters of an Inquisitive Mind

My life, my thoughts, my adventures

The Life and Times of Nathan Badley...

just like Moby Dick, but shorter and less whale-oriented.

