Skip to content

Daily Prompt: All Grown Up

March 6, 2013

Daily Prompt: All Grown Up.

The first time I felt grown up is now. I have felt grown up since 16.

When I got my drivers license I felt more responsible and like I had gained a lot more freedom. These two aspects are a part of aging and they become even more so at 18 years of age.

At 16 I truly felt grown up when I bought my first tank of gas. “Jesus Christ! Gas is frigging expensive!” I exclaimed at the pump on that day. Nothing says growing up like paying for expenses out of your own pocket. Starting to pay for expenses opened my eyes even more to the value of hard work and the value of a dollar.

Now at 18 I am more into saving my money and not spending anything I don’t have to. Now I’m not saying I don’t splurge once in awhile, because life would be to boring and stressful to worry about money all the time. At 18 you get to vote for those who control you and you can participate in the ever so slow American justice system, that puts people on the death sentence, but allows them to appeal for years. At 18 anyone can try their hand at being the next millionaire in the form of lottery.
People can even join the military. Too bad they can’t drink their sorrows after battle…

With see added responsibilities a person has to mature and start thinking about what they need to do for themselves. Getting a job, going to college, finding a career, are all choices that someone has to make for themselves. Their parents can no longer make all decisions for them at 18 and society expects them to be able to make these tough decisions right away.

Growing up isn’t always bad, because of the freedom a person gains, being able to go do anything at anytime is probably he best part!

What are your thoughts on growing up?

-YoungEmt

From → Daily Post

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Abby Has Issues

I have issues. So do you.

A Wandering Commentary

Analyzing a variety of topics, most of them meaningless

www.immodiumabuser.com

AS I TOLD THE GIRL THAT I LOST MY VIRGINITY TO, THANKS FOR LAUGHING AT ME HERE TODAY.

readful things blog

colourful language, colourful opinions

Random Encounters of an Inquisitive Mind

My life, my thoughts, my adventures

The Life and Times of Nathan Badley...

just like Moby Dick, but shorter and less whale-oriented.

