Skip to content

The Gym and its Different Kinds of Rats

February 5, 2013

So I have started going to the gym again (bring on the muscle soreness and tightness) and I decided its time to talk about all the different rats. You know what I’m talking about. All the different breeds of men and women who go into a public place and make it look like a rainstorm happened with the excrement of hard work.

The first gym rat is the Broken Back Rat. This is the rat that read online that the only way to get fit and build big muscle fast is to lift weights that are way too heavy. You know whom I’m talking about, the person who grabs on to an 80 pound barbell and starts heaving it, barely using their arms. This is the person that ends up taking weeks off because they threw their back out doing “back barbell curls” a.k.a. cheating bicep curls.

The second gym rat is the one who spends all their free time at the gym thinking that is the only way to get fit, but then goes home and eats crappy junk food, or the one who workouts with a Dunkin Donuts Coolatta in hand. The Workout Eat Crap Rat. This is the person that usually sets a new years resolution to get in shape, but doesn’t realize that it requires more than just going to the gym. Eating right is better for you than working out to start off anyways.

The third rat is the steroid user. The Roid Rage rat. The big intimidating guy who gets mad if someone is using “his equipment”, even though he was no where near it at the time you started using it. This big guy is the one who screams every time he does a rep and shakes the whole gym when he finishes up the set by throwing 160 pounds of weight on the ground. These are also the ones who believe what they do is the best way to get fit and that the way they do things needs to be taught to everyone in the gym.

The fourth and final rat is the True Gym Rat. This rat goes to the gym on a regular basis, and balances a proper diet before adding in dietary supplements. This one isn’t trying to impress anyone, therefore they lift what they can handle with great form. This rat is also the one who is willing to give a helping hand in spotting anyone along with giving a few pointers to get someone started in the right direction.

Which gym rat are you? I believe I am the True Gym Rat now that I am back from my hiatus. Give this a like or comment to get more posts about the gym and fitness. I can also do serious posts on it. Thank You!

-YoungEmt

11 Comments
  1. This post is absolute truth haha.

  2. I’m the kind of rat who hates going to the gym, but goes because he knows it’s good for him and the calories aren’t going to burn themselves…

    • I feel like I am partly that kind of rat too.

      • I prefer to run outside, but had to move back inside and onto the treadmills because it’s too damn cold out there…

      • I tend to prefer treadmills backside they are easier on my knees.

      • Totally understand. If you ever read my blog, you’ll see why I’m hesitant about treadmills. It’s a weird thing… 😉

  3. I think any True Gym Rat has some of the other tendencies listed above. I work out at home, 6 days a week, and it’s always hardcore; always high intensity, and I prefer at home because it takes away the “need to impress” mentality. I say, as long as you’re being true to yourself and your goals, you’re a True Gym Rat. That said, it’s all about moderation, and I think that’s what separates a True Gym Rat from all else–everybody slips, the question is, do you keep sliding down the bad habit path, or do you pick yourself up and work harder the next day?

    Wallace

    • Very good insight. I never thought of it that way but it does make a lot of sense to me. I find that the people who don’t worry about impressing others at the gym tend to be more successful, this also includes those who workout at home.

  4. I am the ‘Never been to a Gym in my Life Rat’. From what you say, it seems like I have made the right choice. I got put off looking at all those men in prison films, pumping iron it ‘the yard’. Also, those terrible-coloured outfits worn by Olivia Newton John and the rest in that ‘Physical’ video…

Leave a Reply

Abby Has Issues

I have issues. So do you.

A Wandering Commentary

Analyzing a variety of topics, most of them meaningless

www.immodiumabuser.com

AS I TOLD THE GIRL THAT I LOST MY VIRGINITY TO, THANKS FOR LAUGHING AT ME HERE TODAY.

readful things blog

colourful language, colourful opinions

Random Encounters of an Inquisitive Mind

My life, my thoughts, my adventures

The Life and Times of Nathan Badley...

just like Moby Dick, but shorter and less whale-oriented.

