Skip to content

eReaders or Hardcopies? How about Both?

February 4, 2013
English: Photographic composition of Granmata ...

eReaders Galore! (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Daily Post Challenge, Mind the GapHow do you prefer to read, with an eReader like a Kindle or Nook, or with an old school paperback in hand?

I have an eReader but I must say it is not as fulfilling as a regular old paperback or hardcover book. An eReader cannot make you feel like you have accomplished as much, as you feel when you turn the final page of a 1000 paged dinosaur of a book from Stephen King’s library. The reader looses on out on so many sensory parts of reading when they pick up an electronic reader like a Kindle or Nook.

There is nothing quite like the ageing smell of an old paperback or the feel of its delicate flower like pages rub between your fingertips as you quickly turn the page to find out if Alex Cross is going to catch the biggest killer he has faced yet.

The eReader also holds a special place in my heart. The thought that I can possess as many books and magazines in the palm of my hand is almost unfathomable. The compact and sleek designs make it easier for me to carry the latest super novel I am reading. The compatibility to also load the same books to smaller devices such as my iPod Touch or straight on to my computer makes the e-book another best thing since sliced bread (yes there can be more than one).

I do not think I could switch to just having one choice though. They both have great pros and cons and I have grown up with feel of a book in my hands. The love for that feeling is hard to get rid of and an eReader can’t fill that space for the love. Whoever says that the feeling of an eReader is more cozy is lying through their teeth ( or in some parts of this country their tooth… 😉 ). The eReader loses its coziness even more so when the reader has to read with the “book” plugged into the wall.

Bookstores can’t be beat either. The smell of all the pages or the atmosphere of quietness and tranquility as the patrons continue on their journey to find the next great read that will grace their eyeballs and massage the brain. The little kids running around, because they are excited about the new picture book they are bringing home. The kids can hold onto it and use it over and over, without worry of dropping it.

Which one do you prefer and why? Leave a like if you enjoyed my perspective please, I really greatly appreciate it.

-YoungEmt

Here is the original challenge.

Leave a Reply

Abby Has Issues

I have issues. So do you.

A Wandering Commentary

Analyzing a variety of topics, most of them meaningless

www.immodiumabuser.com

AS I TOLD THE GIRL THAT I LOST MY VIRGINITY TO, THANKS FOR LAUGHING AT ME HERE TODAY.

readful things blog

colourful language, colourful opinions

Random Encounters of an Inquisitive Mind

My life, my thoughts, my adventures

The Life and Times of Nathan Badley...

just like Moby Dick, but shorter and less whale-oriented.

