Skip to content

Most Important, Yet Most Tedious

January 31, 2013

So this month I will finally be cleared to ride as a regular provider instead of being a third man on the ambulance I have a huge problem though…I need to learn streets!

I have learned the largest most used arteries, and now I am on to the streets that branch off these major arteries. It is a pain int the ass because I do not really know what the best ways is to go about this. Should I do it outcropping by outcropping or choose to learn all the streets that intersect main arteries and then go onto the streets of those streets?

I start driver training with my company on the 20th. They have given a small amount of tips on learning streets, but I feel like it is not enough. I use google maps satellite view to see landmarks that can be used as references to the streets.

Does anyone have any tips of their own? Leave them in the comment section and click a like while your at :). Thank you!

-Youngemt95

20130131-225650.jpg

From → EMS, My Life

2 Comments
  1. In my experience, (and London is a big city) you learn best by not trying to learn first. Find the address when you get the call, use a paper map book, and read the driver in. In time, you will be going along the same streets so often, it will become second nature. You will probably go to the same addresses a lot too. Don’t be too daunted, or try to run before you can walk. It all comes together in time Joey. Regards, Pete.

Leave a comment

Abby Has Issues

I have issues. So do you.

A Wandering Commentary

Analyzing a variety of topics, most of them meaningless

www.immodiumabuser.com

AS I TOLD THE GIRL THAT I LOST MY VIRGINITY TO, THANKS FOR LAUGHING AT ME HERE TODAY.

readful things blog

The search for meaning, one page at a time

Random Encounters of an Inquisitive Mind

My life, my thoughts, my adventures

The Life and Times of Nathan Badley...

just like Moby Dick, but shorter and less whale-oriented.

Reasonably Ludicrous

Unreasonably Entertaining